The Northern Victoria region covers 100,562 square kilometres and is the largest electoral region in Victoria with 524,100 enrolled voters.  It runs from the Upper Murray to the South Australian border along the Murray River, south to central Victoria and the Macedon Ranges, east to the Yarra Ranges, and north to the high country.

Communities include Alexandra, Beechworth, Benalla, Bendigo, Birchip, Bright, Broadford, Castlemaine, Cobram, Corryong, Daylesford, Echuca, Gisborne, Healesville, Kerang, Kilmore, Kinglake, Kyabram, Kyneton, Lancefield, Mansfield, Mildura, Robinvale, Seymour, Wallan, Wangaratta, Warburton, Whittlesea, Wodonga, Woodend, Yarrawonga and Yea.

The region’s major economic sectors include small business, health care, aged care, farming, fruit and nut production, viticulture and winemaking, tourism, timber production and processing, food processing, defence and textile manufacturing, construction, and alpine sports.

Northern Victoria includes the Legislative Assembly districts of Benambra, Bendigo East, Bendigo West, Eildon, Euroa, Macedon, Mildura, Murray Plains, Ovens Valley, Shepparton and Yan Yean.

The region’s boundaries will change on November 26, 2022 – the date of Victoria’s next election – to include the communities of Charlton and Donald from Yarriambiack Shire. Voters in Toolern Vale will be enrolled in Western Victoria region, those in Beveridge and Wallan enrolled in Northern Metropolitan region, and those in Diamond Creek and Wattle Glen enrolled in North-Eastern Metropolitan region.